THE HELP – “What Went Wrong”

The Help – Tate Taylor, director, 2011

JOHN: The first half made me sick to my stomach. Even though I lived during the period depicted in the film, I didn’t know that the help in Southern homes were required to use separate bathrooms (of course I did know public facilities were segregated). What were people thinking. And the women dressed like mannequins, what was that all about (what would Freud have made of them and their treatment of women of a different color). We must never forget, even if it is difficult to watch.

GO, GO, GO (3 GOs out of 4)

SPANKY: I agree about the beginning, but the second half of the movie turns this into a Lifetime Channel feature, with that soupy music and its pointing a finger at the especially contemptible women, which sort of lets the white audience off the hook. The “poop pie” is a nice ironic twist, but having the “Help” book be well received and the black maid going off at the end to be a writer like the white girl—all seem self-serving to make the early message more palatable for today’s viewers.

BARK (1 BARK out of 4)

2 responses to “THE HELP – “What Went Wrong”

  1. How often do you ever get to see a film that’s both funny and important? I loved the way contemporary civil rights video footage was worked into the film, to set the public stage for the very personal action of the story. And although the separate bathrooms were related to the black-white segregation of the American South, it also had its roots in the class segregation of servants in the traditional British manor setting to which American elitists subliminally aspired. The Help was certainly not always comfortable to watch, but I liked the way it attracted audiences with its comedic advertising and then drew them into personal contact with some painful subject matter.

  2. cars 2 toys
    I’m typically to blogging and i really respect your content. The article has actually peaks my interest. I’m going to bookmark your website and keep checking for new information.

Leave a comment